An Open Letter to Right Wing Extremists

Disclaimer: This is rated G for Guest Post

 

I got into a very good discussion this morning with a friend about all the political chaos going on right now and it just reminded me of how little extreme conservatives care about my opinion. I haven’t felt like I’ve had a voice or a say in anything going on, and sometimes that makes being a strong, confident, capable, independent woman a lot harder than it should be. So I wanted to write something speaking specifically to those extreme conservatives who don’t seem to understand:

 

Dear Right Wing Extremists,

 

For a group of people that seem to support Christianity so much, I find you all to be highly hypocritical. If you’re going to take the bible so literally then why don’t you pay attention to the concrete actions that your lord and savior did throughout his life time. First I want to address the Affordable Care Act and the government shut down. And to do so I need to give you a little background. I am a confident, intelligent woman. I work hard, I save my money, I study hard to earn an advanced degree in order to become a highly productive and contributive  member of this society. Yes, I have lived in other countries and spent time abroad but I love living in this country and all the opportunities that it affords me, most of the time. I am in no way ungrateful. I am the model of American success, but that’s not good enough because I have a vagina. I know you may be surprised by what I am about to say, but I menstruate each and every month. This is a very basic, very inevitable fact of life. I felt cursed when the first day of my cycle every month (if I was lucky enough to be regular) I would awaken to crippling pain. It was literally so bad that I could not walk and would sometimes pass out. I couldn’t go to school or work during the first day of my cycle, and I’m not even explaining all of my symptoms. If you would like to have a conversation some time I would be glad to go into all of the details of how heavy my flow was. The thing is, symptoms of this severity are not normal. Is this my fault? Did I ask to be born a woman? No. And did you know that there is a very lovely little pill that regulates female hormones that can bring these severe symptoms to normal levels for some women? This pill is most commonly referred to as birth control. When I am on this pill I don’t have to disrupt my entire life every month. And at age 15 when I had finally found this solution I was not having sex. So please tell me how your money was paying for me to have sex. I am very tired of hearing you complain about paying for slutty women to have sex when you don’t even know some of the basic practical uses for this pill. Am I a slut because birth control allows me to go to work on the first day of my cycle? No. If I’m concerned about not having kids I’ll use a condom. Birth control is about more than just sex, and if I want to use it to keep from having kids in a society that wants to give me no choice as to what to do with my own body and has such strict guidelines for what constitutes rape that is my own damn business. My body belongs to me and no one else and until you know what it feels like to have someone tell you otherwise, you get no say in the matter. You have no right to question me about what I do in my own bedroom (or the metaphorical bedroom at least, because let’s be honest, people have sex like everywhere nowadays). Do I come up to you Mr. Conservative and ask if you and your wife are doing it missionary style every Wednesday night or do you like BDSM? Do you use condoms or do you just “spill your seed on her belly”? It would be completely inappropriate for me to ask that and I highly doubt I would get an answer. It is disgusting an insulting that I even have to justify myself, or explain what rape is to you. The thing that really gets me is that you have taken this issue and made it your poster child. And that you were so enraged that I was given the chance to obtain this medicine through insurance, that you literally shut down the ENTIRE government, making many go without pay. My question to you is: How much do you have to hate a person, or how little do you have to think of them that you would shut down an entire government just to protest their rights. You make me feel like less of a citizen and less of a person. And you don’t deserve to have any power or say over me. Please tell me what I personally did to make you hate me so much.  Until then, I hope you can’t sleep knowing that you’re taking money away from hard working Americans and putting our country further in debt.

 

Uncordially yours,

 

-Scotch

 

Leave a comment