Take America

Disclaimer: The following is a super awesome guest post/poem by one of our readers. You can listen to it in a link below.

Take America

by Jas Smith

 

Take America

Blacks were 3/5 of men

Minus the 40 acres, now what’s the difference?

Take the world

2 letters and Women are 1/2 of men?

Earning 77 to His, now what’s difference?

 

Ain’t this my land?

You told me I was free.

Or are we the new slaves and there’s a price on me?

 

When you consider me a dime

And just a penny for my thoughts–

You taking value in my looks–

But forget that make-up costs?

Make-up time– You know what? Your fault, your loss.

No time to ask because

Man, now I’m the boss

 

But for reals, you know how much you’re taxing me?

Really, she ain’t got time for just sitting in the

 

backseat.

 

Fuck that, she go’n’ take everything– no receipt.

Take care, she got a mind

Says “Man, I’m taking mine.”

Making my way, damn right– robbing you blind.

Man, I ain’t got time for a dumbass debate

That’s fucking with a system that WASPs manipulate

‘Cause, homie, better believe we the new aftermath

Woman Black, can yall handle that?

Listening to Yeezy then Fiasco’s Bitch Bad

Got reason enough, but you don’t understand

You won’t understand

You can’t fuck with that

You can’t fuck with me

My mind holds more power in it like you best believe.

3/5 and 1/2– what does that infer?

Add it up, sooner or later you’ll figure out my worth.

-Jas Smith

Leave a comment